"Oregon State Capital"
The present state capital is the third capital building in Salem. The
first two burned down. It was built between December 4, 1936
and and June 18, 1938. It was designed by New York architectural
firm of Trowbridge and Livingston, Francis Kelley, the Portland firm
of Whitehouse and Church, and Earl P. Newberry. The general
contractor was Ross B. Hammond. The capital was built in Modernistic
style and enlarged in 1977. The capital faces the north end of town and
Wilson Park is to the west of the building and East Park is to the
east. The 'golden man' on top is a cast bronze statue called
"The Circuit Rider" and it built by A. Philmister Procter.
Paul and Susan Gibby. "Oregon State Capital and the Capital
Mall." Salem Online History Project. 10 Jul 2003